PRESS Categories:

June 10, 2008

[ Previous ] [ All articles in this category ] [ Next ]


Submitted: June 10, 2008 @ 8:11 pm
"Paint by Colours"
Paint It Black - New Lexicon
By: Travis Persaud
Released by Jade Tree Records in 2008

Track Listing:
1. The Ledge
2. Four Deadly Venoms
3. We Will Not
4. Past Tense, Future Perfect
5. Missionary Position
6. White Kids Dying of Hunger
7. Gravity Wins
8. Dead Precedents
9. The Beekeeper
10. Check Yr Math
11. So Much for Honour Among Thieves
12. New Folk Song
13. Saccharine
14. Severence
15. Shell Game Redux

Short. Hard. Fast. All of these words have been used to describe Paint It Black at one point or another. And there’s no use in scouring through a thesaurus to find other adjectives to apply to this punk/hardcore foursome – because short, hard and fast is exactly what their music is.

Led by PhD Dan Yemin, former Lifetime and Kid Dynamite guitarist, Paint It Black spits out 15 hard-hitting tracks in half an hour – and they do it well. “Past Tense, Future Perfect” shows off the band at its finest. Sounding at times like Grade, Yemin’s growl mixes perfectly with the smattering of melody they mix in to add a slice of variance to their 2-minute tracks.

For the most part, Yemin springboards off where Lifetime last ended, adding a tinge more melody and greater cohesion between tracks. “Shell Game Redux” spills open with an anthemic chorus featuring Jeff Pazzati of Naked Raygun, ending the album on the right note. Without reinventing the genre, Paint It Black certainly showcases the best of what’s being done in it.

WGTS Magazine

Travis Persaud